The Comedy of Errors Continues…

This England adventure is quickly turning from a Shakespearean comedy to a Shakespearean tragedy. I’m just hoping the curtain closes sooner rather than later. I mean really, England…what did I ever do to you? Is it the Ralph stalking? I’ll stop. I’ll try really hard to stop. I know I’m American, but I really have nothing to do with the economic crises, the war on terror you got dragged into, or the advisor Phil(who came with us) who gives the US all the credit for winning WWII. I’m sorry for whatever wrong I did against you, but enough is enough already. Give me a break. Please, I can’t take much more of this awful luck and continuous hardships.

Let’s start with Thursday night and seeing The Tempest for a third and final time. I know most of you think I’m crazy for seeing it more than once, but seeing play multiple times can have some merit. This night’s Tempest was a little different than the past performances. One of the main supporting characters was played by a different actor. He was good but the previous actor was better. It also seemed like the actor’s were having a little more fun that night. I also learned that it’s worth it to pay a little more to get better seats than in the gallery which is nothing but slightly padded wooden benches. My bum was pretty sore after the three hour play.

Once again, I went to the stage door. It was surrounded by at least 30 people–so much more than last time. I soon realized many were from the 2:30 matinee and came back after my 7:30 show to get autographs. I stayed on the outside of the main crowd. I got Andrew Jarvis’s autograph. He’s an older actor and was very nice. He asked where I was from. He didn’t readily know Wisconsin but he knew of the Green Bay Packers. When Ralph came out, the crowd converged on him. It was a little scary so I stayed back hoping people would leave and get out of the way once they got their autograph. But it didn’t work out. Once I finally got close enough, the stage door attendant said no more autographs. I was bummed but remembered I already had one. I did get one blurry picture of him though.

Still no luck getting a decent picture of him.

 I wasn’t quite ready to head back to the hostel yet, so I stood by the front of the theatre for a little bit. Andrew Jarvis walked by and talked to me for a minute. Then I got another actor’s autograph as he met up with Andrew. They were both very nice and friendly. They said Ralph was still inside and would come out again soon. I was worried he might come from the stage door way, so I waited on the corner. He of course came out the front. I hurried over there, but some girl monopolized his time, so I didn’t even get to say anything to him. But I got another good look at him, so I couldn’t be too dissapointed.

The next day, I was off for Mr. Darcy’s house aka Chatsworth House in the Peak District area. I took a couple buses and made it to the small town nearby. I found a bus that went right to Chatsworth, but I was there a minute after it was supposed to have been at the stop. I waited for five minutes but was pretty sure I missed it. I walked to the map nearby to figure out how to walk to the house. And then of course, the bus comes racing by but because I wasn’t at the stop it went right on by. So I had to walk.

Muddy path to Mr. Darcy's house.

 It was a very scenic walk but muddy. As I was walking, a map fell out of my purse. I also dropped my phone but I put both back in my purse and pocket. I should have paid more attention to this sign because after I was sitting at my afternoon tea at Chatsworth, I realized my phone and chapstick were missing from my pocket. They must have fallen out somewhere along the way. I was sure a sheep was using up my minutes as I sipped my tea.

Which one of you has my cell phone?

 Of course, I freaked out a little. I was on my own in the middle of England and now I was phoneless. I started crying and it only got worse when one of the employees asked if I was okay. Once I start, I have a hard time stopping. But I sat down and took some deep breaths because I hadn’t even seen the house yet. The house was as beautiful and amazing as I had hoped.

The stop-you-in-your-tracks ceiling in Chatsworth House

 The ceiling is just breathtaking. It’s shown in the movie Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley. Many of the best sights of the house were in that movie.

Beautiful sculpture that was also featured in Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley

 The scene from Pride and Prejudice

The famous sculpture gallery in Chatsworth

 The sculpture gallery was amazing. I could have stayed in there and stared for hours.

Wishing I was Elizabeth Bennet at Pemberly

 I felt very much like Elizabeth Bennet while there. Especially since I noticed my boots and bottom of my trousers(pants in England means underwear) were covered in mud.

I felt like Elizabeth arriving in Netherfield with my 'hem' covered in mud.

After checking to see if anyone had turned my phone in(no luck), I went to my hotel in Chesterfield. It was really nice to have a room to myself for the night. I mean I have my own room at my homestay, but a hotel room to yourself is just different. I got a really good night’s sleep.

The next morning I was off to Derby(pronounced Darby) to see Kedleston Hall. I was really excited for this place because many scenes in The Duchess were filmed here. I was so excited I spilled my wallet full of change onto the bus floor. I should have known that when that cashier gave me £3 worth of change in 5 pence coins something bad was going to happen.

A room in Kedleston Hall used in the movie The Duchess

 Even without the movie connection, the place was fantastic. It’s like going back in time when I visit these historical and heritage sights.

But of course stepping on the same floor boards that Ralph had stepped on was pretty cool too.

Ralph stood where that roped off table is in a scene from The Duchess.

 

The stunning Kedleston Hall

I think Kedleston Hall has been my favorite place to visit on my England adventure.

My Duchess moment at Kedleston Hall

I had met a girl from Canada while visiting Kedleston. We waited for the bus back to Derby together. I had a train to catch so of course the bus never showed up. After twenty minutes of waiting, a really nice woman employee offered me a ride. But I just missed the train by five minutes. So I had to buy another ticket for the next train. I’m really getting sick of spending money I didn’t need to spend if things went as planned.

So even though, the trip definitely had mishaps galore, I saw some amazingly beautiful places in England. I would do it all over again.

Enjoying my period film houses,

Jenny

Leave a comment